• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Medium consonants tones

E-mail Print PDF

The Thai language has five tones, neutral tone, low tone, the falling tone, high tone and rising tone.
The same syllable with a different tone will sometimes radically different meanings.
A good understanding of tone is a prerequisite to learning capital of the Thai language.
Before detailing the rules governing the tone of a syllable, I offer a record of these five tones.
Listen and repeat, make sure you understand the difference between these five tones is crucial.


1. Initial consonant + long vowel = medium tone

dam taa puu djai
black Eye Crab heart



2. Initial consonant + short vowel = low tone

kae kaw doo dja
Sheep Island Nasty Futur



3. Initial consonant+ any  vowel + final consonant k, p, t = low tone

kat baawk pit paaet
Bite Say Close Eight



4. Initial consonant+ any vowel + final consonant ng, n, m = medium tone

kin deern taam djaan
Eat Walk Follow Plate



5. Initial consonant+ any vowel + accent

Low tone Falling tone High Tone Rising Tone

You are here: lessons > The Tones > Medium Consonants