• Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

High consonants tones

E-mail Print PDF

The Thai language has five tones, neutral tone, low tone, the falling tone, high tone and rising tone.
The same syllable with a different tone will sometimes radically different meanings.
A good understanding of tone is a prerequisite to learning capital of the Thai language.
Before detailing the rules governing the tone of a syllable, I offer a record of these five tones.
Listen and repeat, make sure you understand the difference between these five tones is crucial.

1. Initial consonant + long vowel = rising tone

khaa haa siia phii
leg Search Broken / Lose Phantom


2. Initial consonant + short vowel = low tone

khi tchae thaw tha

These examples are meaningless but this rule applies to words with more syllables


3. Initial consonant + any vowel + final consonant k, p, t = low tone

sak so:ht khap khaat
Only Single Drive Torn


4. Initial consonant + any vowel + final consonant ng, n, m = rising tone

tchan fan thoong saawng
I (female) Dream Bag Two


5. Initial consonant + any vowel + accent

Low tone Falling tone don't exist don't exist

You are here: lessons > The Tones > High Consonants